Upvote if you think more people should see this post!



Posted by eric_r_wirsing AKP STAFF Thursday, September 13, 2018

[MV & Album Review] SHINee – 'The Story of Light – Epilogue/Countless'



Track List:

1. All Day All Night
2. Countless
3. Good Evening
4. Chemistry
5. Electric
6. Who Waits For Love
7. Our Page
8. I Say
9. Retro
10. Drive
11. I Want You
12. Undercover
13. JUMP
14. Tonight
15. You & I
16. Lock You Down (Special Track)

SHINee has just dropped the final part of their 'The Story of Light' albums: 'The Story of Light Epilogue.' It contains all 15 songs from the first, second, and third albums from this project. It's the second compilation album, and a repackage of SHINee's sixth full-length album 'The Story of Light.' The album has a new track, 'Countless.' 

"Countless" is a bright, upbeat, poppy tune. Despite being tropical house, it's actually got a lot more depth than you might expect, and the chorus really sticks out as showcasing some serious vocal skill. And I like how the synth fades in and out during the tune, too, letting the boys carry the song more. A perfectly awesome tune to go with the trilogy that celebrates their 10th anniversary.

If you're looking for more SHINee music this album should more than tide you over. With 16 tracks (and one brand spanking new one, to boot), this album is packed with goodness from the last few months. So enjoy and celebrate. SHINee is back. You can also read my reviews for all 3 albums below:



In "Countless," the boys pour their hearts out against a set painted in pastel blues and pinks. The set most reminds me of an old teaser image of theirs, where they are wearing suits of similar muted colors. The set is halfway interesting as it creates the illusion of space.  

Okay, so it probably didn't cost a lot of money, and it's all indoors. But they did a good job making it look sort of spacious like they weren't just trapped on some soundstage. The boys are dressed in suits (cut or worn in various ways), and every shot of the members makes it look like a very confessional video. As it should be since they are talking to a hypothetical lover in the tune.

Initially, Onew's on the phone, and it makes it seem like he's talking to someone. Taemin, Minho, and Key are all casual at first, sitting, calm and collected. Later individual scenes show them with arms outstretched, apparently pleading with an imaginary lover. They do similar things when they're arranged in a circle as the camera pans around them, clutching their chests, clenching their fists, and raising their heads in song.

For what it is, it's not bad. And I think the camera panning around them helped. Not to mention that it's a good song. It's not an amazing video, but it got the point across.


MV Relevance..........8
MV Production.........8
MV Concept.............8

Album Production.....8
Album Concept.........8


  1. SHINee
0 7,304 Share 100% Upvoted
26 minutes ago   0   332
B.A.P, Bang Yong Guk, Zelo, Youngjae, Jongup, Daehyun, Himchan
7 hours ago   15   4,733

allkpop in your Inbox