Upvote if you think more people should see this post!



Posted by eric_r_wirsing AKP STAFF Monday, November 6, 2017

[MV & Album Review] ASTRO – 'Dream Part.02'



Track List:

1. With You
2. Crazy Sexy Cool
3. Butterfly
4. Run
5. Better With You

ASTRO has just dropped their fifth EP, 'Dream Part.02.' This mini-album contains five brand new tracks and is a follow-up to 'Part.01' released back in May. 

"With You" starts out as a low-key dance track. But by the time it hits the chorus, it's full-on club banger and is a fun bop. Give me that over low-key any day. "Crazy Sexy Cool" is their title track, starting with an R&B style track. It never really deviates from that, but it gets better with the chorus and gets more of a stomping beat. There are some cool raps in that one too. 

"Butterfly" is very much what I consider pure pop. I like the tune because it has some things in common with club-bangers and some definite smoothness to it. "Run" is the first of two ballads on here, and it more fits the definition of a power ballad. It alternates between soft and epic. The chorus is definitely warm and welcoming. The very last track is "Better With You," which is a ballad. It starts out emotional, and it even includes a couple raps, which make it even better.

This time around they've drowned their tracks in a controlled falsetto and even messed around with some autotune. It's a slightly different sound than their last release or even ones before that. There are even bolder choruses, as well. It's nice to see a band evolve, even if a little. And here they've put together a few cool songs. I look forward to ASTRO releases just like this one.


The boys of ASTRO are all tucked into bed. But an astronomical event has them awake and that's when the strangeness starts. They see suited versions of themselves dancing in the street, and some of them start to float. A wind builds up inside their wardrobe. They climb inside and are transported to other places...

I'm not going to spoil it all for you, but it has a narrative of sorts. It's fun and whimsical, and there are some funny parts to it. And the special effects...well, Fantagio definitely spent some money on this one. I've always though ASTRO MVs were funny (in fact, it's the best part of an ASTRO release), but they've outdone themselves here and changed concepts.

Uhh...why is he hauling that guy in the middle up by his arm?

The dancing is pretty top notch. It almost seems like they've upped their game, and they positively ooze cool in this MV. I love how they breakdance in one scene, while they bust out the awesome choreo in others.

This is a lot more fun than I expected, and definitely tongue-in-cheek as well as lit. This one definitely gets my thumbs up.


MV Relevance...........8
MV Production..........8
MV Concept..............8


Album Production.....8
Album Concept.........8



  1. ASTRO
0 9,560 Share Be the first to vote
TWICE, Nayeon, Jungyeon, Momo, Sana, Jihyo, Mina, Dahyun, Chaeyoung, Tzuyu
1 hour ago   2   1,008
5 hours ago   0   3,879
Momoland, JooE, Yeonwoo, Hyebin, Jane, Taeha, Nayun, Daisy, Ahin, Nancy
23 hours ago   62   9,085

allkpop in your Inbox