Posted by eric_r_wirsing Sunday, August 13, 2017

[Album & MV Review] Jessica – 'My Decade'



Track List:

1. Summer Storm
2. Beautiful Mind
3. Saturday Night
4. Love U (d.ear cover)
5. Starry Night
6. Its Spring*

* This song has already been reviewed, and will not be covered here. 

Jessica is back to celebrate her 10th anniversary as a recording artist, hence the new EP 'My Decade.' The mini-album has six tracks, the last of which is the previously released single "Its Spring."

The title track "Summer Storm" has that magic formula that makes a good pop song. I like this track because even though her voice soars all over it, the song is still down to earth and accessible. Too often these solo artists try for a mature, artsy sound, and it ends up leaving me cold. This felt warm and welcoming.

"Beautiful Mind" has a similar sound, but yet is its own beast, and goes a completely different way with the chorus. I like how her pitch goes higher, she sounds sweeter there, and the song ends up with more feels. It also shows off her range quite nicely. It's a pretty song, probably because of its simplicity.

The third track, "Saturday Night" follows in the light, low-key nature of the rest of the tunes. However it gets a pounding beat, and the chorus is exciting and lit. And despite singing a club banger, she still gets a chance to showcase those awesome vocals. That's kind of a feat all by itself. Those usually are designed to get your heart pumping and little else.

"Love U" is a cover of the song by singer-songwriter d.ear. This is a largely acoustic affair. -- a sweet, stripped down ballad. She handles the ups and downs nicely here. I'm not super familiar with the original, but vocally she was on point. I'd like to think this is a respectful homage.

"Starry Night" is a low key tune once again. It's sort of mid-range and not too jarring after "Love U." It's pretty and has some nice electric guitars in the chorus. This kind of song is enjoyable, and probably best listened to at night. It's very soothing, and she sounds hopeful. She dedicates this one to her fans.

This collection of tunes is nicely done. As I said, I like the fact that the songs are more pop than what we heard on her last release. I'm not looking for adult contemporary -- so it's almost like a little prayer was answered here. Jessica contributed lyrics to most of the tunes and proves herself a songwriter as well as a singer. It's not the best I've heard, but it is the best I've heard from Jessica. And that's not a low bar.


Jessica has dropped a new MV for her new EP, and here she reminisces about a lover.

The MV follows a progression, where she looks at a photo and remembers, or something else (like sitting at the piano) reminds her of a time when she was not attached and happier. It's obvious some celebration has taken place, judging from the debris.  Some of the lonely frustration she expresses here is palpable. She ends her day by closing her eyes as the MV ends.

I particularly like how some of this is filmed. Things like scene switches from inside to "outside," the sky behind a tree displaying a color not found in nature, and transitions from a snowy view out a window to sun streaming are nice touches and really make this MV fire. The colors are also dynamic.

The sequence of events is sometimes shaken up, like when she wistfully looks at a snowglobe, and suddenly it's snowing inside -- not a memory, but something that her S/O is doing at that moment. I thought that was a nice switch-up. The MV is hardly an original idea, but the cinematography keeps it from getting stale.

This MV is really a work of art. I probably shouldn't be surprised, but I am. Pleasantly so. There's something magical about this MV, and I can't quite put my finger on it. But it did awaken some feels inside.


MV Production..........9
MV Concept..............8

Album Production.....9
Album Concept.........9


  1. Jessica
0 18,073 Share 100% Upvoted

allkpop in your Inbox

1 hour ago   2   2,305
New Message