Original Content
Posted by Rika-go Thursday, October 27, 2022

15 Groups and sub-units that are composed of soloists and idols from different K-Pop groups


There are some K-Pop groups that are composed of soloists and idols who belong to different K-Pop groups. In this regard, SM entertainment tops the list. This South Korean entertainment agency created a number of supergroups and units made up of idols from its various popular bands.

Here are some of the groups and units whose members aren’t from the same K-Pop group.

GOT the beat

    The newest female supergroup of SM Entertainment, GOT the beat, was formed in 2022. The group is composed of seven successful idols of SME: soloist BOA, Girls’ Generation’s Taeyeon and Hyoyeon, Red Velvet’s Seulgi and Wendy, and AESPA’s Karina and Winter. The debut single of the group “Step Back” was released on January 3, 2022.


      SuperM was formed by SM Entertainment X Capital Music Group corporation. The band consists of seven members from different groups of SME. They are SHINee’s Taemin, EXO’s Baekhyun and Kai, NCT 127’s Mark and Taeyong, and WayV’s Ten and Lucas. On October 4, 2019, the group made their debut, releasing their debut Extended Play, “SuperM.”


        Formed by YG Entertainment, MOBB was a hip-hop duo sub-unit. The sub-unit was composed of Mino and Bobby, rappers from Winner and iKon, respectively. They released their debut Extended Play album, “The MOBB,” on September 8, 2016. The duo was active until 2019.

        Hi Suhyun

          Another K-Pop duo formed by YG entertainment, Hi Suhyun, consisted of soloist Lee Hi and Lee Su-Hyun from AKMU. The group debuted in 2014 with the single “I’m Different” featuring Kim Bobby of iKon. The duo was active till 2019. In 2020 Lee Hi left YG Entertainment.

          S.M. The Performance

            In 2012 SM Entertainment formed a dance project group named S.M. The Performance. The members of the group were U-know from TVXQ, Eunhyuk and Donghae from Super Junior, Minho and Taemin from SHINee, and Kai and Lay from EXO. They made their debut with the single “Spectrum” in 2012.

            S.M. THE BALLAD

              SM Entertainment’s ballad project group S.M. THE BALLAD consisted of different idols from SME like Max Changmin, Yesung, Kyuhyun, Zhou Mi, Taeyeon, Chen, Jay Kim, Jino, Zhang Liyin, Jonghyun, and Krystal. In 2010, the group released their debut Extended Play, “Miss You.” With a new lineup, they released “Breath” in 2014.


                Formed by SM Entertainment and Hyundai Motor Company’s collaboration YOUNIQUE was a special unit. The members of YOUNIQUE were Eunhyuk (Super Junior), Henry (Super Junior-M), Hyoyeon (Girls’ Generation), Taemin (SHINee), and Luhan and Kai from EXO. The group released two promotional singles on October 30, 2012, and disbanded later that year.

                REFUND SISTERS

                  Refund Sisters is a seasonal K-Pop Supergroup formed by the MBC variety show “Hangout with Yoo.” On October 10, 2020, the group released their debut single, “Don’t Touch Me.” The supergroup is a spin-off of SSAK3. Refund sisters is composed of soloists Lee Hyori, Jessi, Uhm Jung-Hwa, and MAMAMOO’s Hwasa.

                  STATION Young

                    STATION Young is another project group formed by SM Entertainment and consists of four members. The members are Seulgi from Red Velvet, SinB from GFRIEND, Soyeon from (G)I-DLE, and soloist Chungha. They released a digital single titled “Wow Thing” on September 28, 2018.


                      WJMK stands for Wuju Meki. Formed by Starship Entertainment and Fantagio Music, WJMK is a special project group between WJSN and Weki Meki. The group is composed of four members; Seola and Luda from WJSN and Weki Meki’s Yoojung and Doyeon. The group debuted on June 1, 2018, with the digital single “Strong.”

                      Triple H

                        Triple H was a South Korean trio group formed by Cube Entertainment consisting of soloist HyunA, Pentagon member Hui and former Pentagon member E’Dawn. They released their debut Extended Play, “199X,” on May 1, 2017. The group was active till 2018.

                        Trouble Maker

                          Another group with Hyuna under Cube Entertainment was Trouble Maker. The unit consisted of former BEAST member Hyunseung along with HyunA. The duo debuted on December 1, 2011, with their first mini album, “Trouble Maker.”


                            M&D stands for Midnight & Dawn or Miari & Dangye-dong. M&D was a pop-rock duo unit formed by SM Entertainment. Super Junior’s Heechul and TraxX’s Kim Jung-mo were used to be the members of the group. The duo debuted on June 22, 2011, and released their debut single, “Close Ur Mouth.” They later changed the group name to Kim Heechul & Kim Jungmo and eventually disbanded in 2019.


                              Composed of first-generation idols of SM Entertainment, “S” was a K-Pop project group composed of Kangta from H.O.T, Shin Hye-sung from Shinhwa and Lee jee Hoon. On September 24, 2003, the trio released their debut album “Fr. In. Cl,” which stands for “Friends in Classic.”


                                K/DA is a virtual K-Pop girl group from Riot Games. The group is composed of four themed versions of the characters of the video game “League of Legends.” The characters are Ahri, Akali, Evelynn, and Kai’Sa. The voices of Ahri, Akali, Evelynn, and Kai’Sa are provided by (G)I-DLE members Miyeon and Soyeon, as well as American singers Madison Beer and Jaira Burns, respectively. The characters are also been voiced by Lexie Liu, Twice’s Nayeon, Sana, and many other artists. In 2018 the group released their debut single, “Pop/Stars.”

                                1. GOT the beat
                                2. HI SUHYUN
                                3. K/DA
                                4. M&D
                                5. MOBB
                                6. Refund Sisters
                                7. SM The Ballad
                                8. SuperM
                                9. Triple H
                                10. Trouble Maker
                                11. WJMK
                                12. SUPERGROUPS
                                13. UNITS
                                7 17,637 Share 93% Upvoted
                                anik92176 pts Thursday, October 27, 2022 0
                                Thursday, October 27, 2022

                                And there’s also Big Byung - a parody group with GOT7 Jackson, BTOB Sungjae and VIXX N & Hyuk - it was made for a variety show and had couple of songs 😄:

                                4 (+5 / -1)
                                ana_martins1,235 pts Thursday, October 27, 2022 1
                                Thursday, October 27, 2022

                                you guys forgot

                                this are the ones i am remembering now but i bet there is a few more

                                it's just a pity that those units dont last longer. most are just collabs and dont even have another comeback

                                3 (+4 / -1)

                                1 more reply

                                SHOW ALL COMMENTS

                                allkpop in your Inbox

                                THE TOP 10 STORIES DELIVERED DAILY
                                New Message