Upvote if you think more people should see this post!



Posted by eric_r_wirsing AKP STAFF Monday, September 17, 2018

[MV & Album Review] Lovelyz – 'Muse on Music'



Track list:

CD 1 Dawn
1. Destiny
2. Getaway
3. Joyland
4. Good-bye Chapter 1
5. Fondant
6. WoW!
7. Hide and Seek
8. Aya
9. Just
10. Sleepy Dreams  
11. Secret Garden  

CD 2 Day
1. Hi~
2. Candy Jelly Love
3. Ah-Choo
4. Hug Me
5. For You
6. 1cm
7. Cameo
8. Emotion
9. Now, We
10. Twinkle
11. Triangle  

CD 3 Night
1. Good Night Like Yesterday  
2. Stranger (feat. Wheesung, Baby Soul solo)
3. Gone  (Jin solo)
4. Shooting Star
5. Circle
6. Bookmark
7. Dawn Star  (Baby Soul, Kei, Jin)
8. First Snow
9. Night and Day
10. Fallin'
11. Doll  

Lovelyz is back, this time with something a little different -- their first instrumental album. This contains all the backing tracks to 33 of their songs -- all their hits, and quite a few of their B-sides to boot.

As a physical product, it's gorgeous. A guarantee card, two signed guitar picks, and an 84-page score sheet, so you can play these selections yourself. It also comes with 3 CDs packed with music Each of the CDs is labeled with a part of the day, Morning, Day, and Night. Presumably, this is supposed to represent the mood, and the tracks are representative of this.

You can see (and hear) member Baby Soul giving you a tour of the album. The piano selection she plays is particularly beautiful.

Sometimes an instrumental can really resonate with you. I'm talking 2NE1's "Come Back Home" with its reggae and trap elements or all the different synth effects in "4 Walls" by f(x). Then there are others that reveal things you've never heard before, like 4minute's "Hate" and NCT's unsettling instrumental for "The 7th sense." Woollim has a ton of these instrumentals for their own bands, but this is the first girl group I can think of that has done this.

I don't think this will have quite the same impact (though I did hear some new things in "Candy Jelly Love" -- one of my faves). While some of the more upbeat songs are a bit thin, I have to give a shoutout to the ballads. They are incredibly relaxing even with vocals, so as instrumentals they're even more effective. Study, chillax, and even play them as lullabies to send you off to sweet slumber.

If you're musically inclined, set up one of the sheets and see if you can play the tune. Maybe if you're not musically inclined, this might be incentive to learn. And as I said, the ballads are tres awesome. If you're a fan of instrumentals, pick this one up. It might be pricey, but it's worth every penny.


(MV scores are for the unboxing)
Packaging SCORE: 9.0

Album Production.....9
Album Concept.........9


  1. Lovelyz
0 4,052 Share 100% Upvoted
Kim Hyun Joong
10 hours ago   41   4,601

allkpop in your Inbox