Upvote if you think more people should see this post!



Posted by eric_r_wirsing AKP STAFF Monday, September 24, 2018

[MV & Album Review] GOT7 – 'Present : YOU / Lullaby'



Track List:

1. Lullaby *Title
2. Enough
3. I'll Protect You
4. No One Else
5. I Am Me
6. Sunrise – JB (GOT7)
7. OMW –  Mark (GOT7)
8. Made It – Jackson (GOT7)
9. My Youth – Jinyoung (GOT7)
10. Nobody Knows –  Youngjae (GOT7)
11. Party –  BamBam (GOT7)
12. Fine – Yugyeom (GOT7)
13. Lullaby (English Ver.)
14. Lullaby (Chinese Ver.)
15. Lullaby (Spanish Ver.)
16. Lullaby (Inst.)

The boys of GOT7 are back, this time with their third album 'Present : YOU.' The meaning of the title, according to JYP, is that the fans are the best present GOT7 could ever have. The album features the title track "Lullaby" in four different languages (Chinese, English, Korean, and Spanish), not to mention solo tracks co-produced by each member. The MV for "Lullaby" racked up 10 million views in 24 hours. 

Contrary to what you might think, "Lullaby" is anything but, punctuated with raps and time changes, not to mention the smooth tenors of the boys. It's pretty high tempo and a pretty good jam. Still, it sounds the same no matter what language you sing it in. "Enough" is a power ballad. It starts out slow and tender and gains momentum with raps and a stronger chorus. There are a lot of time changes here, but it serves to make a better tune. "I'll Protect You" is one of the softer offerings on this LP, and it's mid-tempo. Kinda quiet and less playful than other tunes on here, it's okay, but I think they could have done better.

 "No One Else" is a solid R&B tune, despite all the effects they want to throw at it, it still remains just that. It bears some resemblance to pop as well. It's a quieter rhythm, and fairly pleasant to listen to. "I Am Me" is more techno and house inspired, particularly during the dance breaks. I like the chorus and how it sounds ethereal and distant. It makes this song really pop. "Sunrise" (JB) is a soft R&B track, with the falsetto and the slower rhythms. He does a good job with it, the tune playing to his strengths. "OMW" (Mark) is more playful tunes, with tons more raps, despite it being played as a slower tune. It feels very pensive and confession-inspired. Jackson's "Made It" is probably my favorite song on here. Loud synths, bold, in-your-face raps, and even a raw chorus made their way on this track. And I love it. 

Jinyoung slows things way down with "My Youth," a song which seems to trace the years and sounds appropriate for a tune about looking back. "Nobody Knows" (Youngjae) sounds very epic, with the echo effects and a billowy chorus. It's sung quite emotionally, and he does a great job expressing himself. "Party" sounds quite upbeat, as well it should. There are some nice breaks and bridges here that really help this song along. At the first listen it's not amazing, but the devil is in the details. Yugyeom wrote the soft tune "Fine" for himself, and his voice fits this song like a glove. I really like this tune for staying true to itself. They could have set it up like a traditional ballad (with all the moments that ruin it), but they didn't, and it's a gentler and better tune because of it.

Gradually GOT7 positioned themselves as a more of a soft pop/R&B band, rather than rap or hip-hop. And that's much of what we have here. A more mature album with less repetition, and lyrics that sound a lot more thoughtful than anything else. Does it work? Well, I prefer their earlier work, but I can't deny that they did a great job on this album.


The MV for "Lullaby" probably would have been more appropriate for a song called "Fairy Tale." With animated teddy bears, bookshelves that are a doorway to another world, a bed that changes locations from a bedroom to an oasis, flying cars, floating toys, and quick-blooming flowers. And that's only scratching the surface.

It's very upbeat, and for the most part brightly-lit. That goes right along with the tone of the song. The CGI was pretty well done. And though some of it was cartoonish, that seemed like entirely the intent.
The dancing was confident and bold, with sweeping moves and hands that knife through the air. The boys kill it here, as they have just about every album. The members move well and explode into action in sync to the music. So not only do we have a killer song to listen to, but dynamic movements as well.
Combining animation with live action, this MV satisfies on multiple levels.


MV Relevance...........8
MV Production..........8
MV Concept..............8
Album Production.....8
Album Concept.........8


  1. GOT7
0 13,899 Share 100% Upvoted
misc., Park Ji Min
9 minutes ago   0   1,748
Tiger Grass & Tea Tree Oil Face Mask

Tiger Grass & Tea Tree Oil Face Mask


allkpop in your Inbox