Music Releases, Concerts / Events, Pictorials
Posted by Wednesday, February 22, 2012

Winners from the 2012 'Gaon Chart K-Pop Awards'


On February 22nd, Gaon held their first ever 'Gaon Chart K-Pop Awards' at the Blue Square Hall in Seoul.

Gaon is the national chart of South Korea and is intended to be the equivalent of Oricon in Japan and the Billboard in the United States. The organization's awards stand out by recognizing not just artists and idols, but stylists, choreographers, producers, composers, and other professionals in music industry as well.

This year, the show was hosted by Girls' Generation's Taeyeon and composer Joo Young Hoon, with appearances by B2STIU, Super Junior, and more.

Check out the list of winners from 2012's Gaon Chart K-Pop Awards below!


Rookie Artists:

- Male: Huh Gak
- Female: Kim Bo Kyung

- Male: B1A4
- Female: A Pink


Newly Discovered/Rising Artist Awards:

- Noel
- Girl's Day
- The Koxx


→ Singers of the Year Award:

- SECRET [January]
- IU [February]
- K.Will [March]
- Big Bang [April]
- 2NE1 [May]
- SECRET [June]
- T-ara [July]
- Leessang [August]
- Davichi [September]
- Lee Seung Gi [October]
- Wonder Girls [November]
- IU [December]


→ Album of The Year Awards:

- TVXQ, 'Keep Your Head Down' [1st Quarter]
- B2ST, 'Fiction and Fact' [2nd Quarter]
- Super Junior, 'Mr. Simple' [3rd Quarter]
- Girls' Generation, 'The Boys' [4th Quarter]


→ Oricon Special Award:

- Girls' Generation


→ Lyricist of the Year Award:

- Kim Eana (Brown Eyed Girls' "Sixth Sense", IU's "You and I", and more)


Style Awards:

- Prepix [Choreography] (B2ST's "Fiction", Jay Park's "Know Your Name")
- Seo Soo Kyung [Stylist]


Technical Award:
- Ko Seung Wook


Producer of the Year Award:

- Kim Kwang Soo [Core Contents Media]


→ K-Pop Contribution Award:

- Lee Soo Man [SM Entertainment]


Foreign Music Award:

- Maroon 5


New Media Platform Award:

- YouTube
- Daum


Source + Image: Star News via Naver

0 Share Be the first to vote
3 minutes ago   0
36 minutes ago   0

allkpop in your Inbox