Upvote if you think more people should see this post!



Posted by eric_r_wirsing AKP STAFF Sunday, January 14, 2018

[MV & Album Review] INFINITE – 'Top Seed'



Track List:

1. Begin
2. Tell Me *Title
3. Synchronise
4. No More
5. TGIF (Dong Woo Solo)
6. Prayer (Maetal's Sorrow)
7. Why Me
8. Wind
9. I Hate
10. Reminisce (L Solo)
11. Love Song (Sung Jong Solo)
12. Begin Again

It's been a little over 5 months since Hoya left Woollim Entertainment and INFINITE. At that time, the agency made plans for them to reorganize as a 6-member group. Now they've dropped their new full-length album 'Top Seed.' Not only is this their first release since 2016's 'Infinite Only,' but also their first full-length album since 2014's 'Season 2.' 

The album kicks off with "Begin," which squishes orchestral strains and synths together. It starts off epic but then the beat turns somewhat light and upbeat. We transition to "Tell Me," an upbeat tune very much like what we're used to hearing from INFINITE. I wasn't the biggest fan at first, but it sucked me in the more I listened. A solid pop tune. 

"Synchronise" is a return to their bold synth-laden sound, with top-notch vocals and a mega-catchy tune. I really like this one. "No More" is a ballad, more filled out with some synth stabs and a pleasant soundscape overall. One of the things I like about it the consistent vocal control. 

I really like "TGIF," a loud hip-hop track. It brings a sense of fun and playfulness to the LP. "Prayer (Maetal's Sorrow)" is rather an epic-sounding track. We have the hyper synths and orchestral crashes that give it a fantastic sound. Plus that violin!

"Why Me" almost has that power ballad sound, though the main verses are simply more urgent and the chorus is earnest. I like it though -- it not only is a good bop, but it sounds almost majestic when you hit the chorus."Wind" is a ballad which has the boys completely pleading and emotional. It sounds very vulnerable and confessional, and each member brings their rich vocals to the tune. 

"I Hate" is hard rock tune, and it's pretty close to amazing. It's got that crunchy guitar that I've most recently heard on Dreamcatcher's EPs. L's solo is "Reminisce" a ballad where he bares his soul with a piano, then a full-on orchestra. It's okay, but it didn't really grab me. 

"Love Song" is Sung Jong's solo, and it has kind of an older, trot-inspired sound. Cheery and innocent, it brought a smile to my face. "Begin Again" is an effective closer, uplifting and catchy at the same time. I like it when bands do songs like this. And this is a fun jam.

I never had any doubt that they'd do well as a 6-member outfit. Yes, Hoya has his own projects he's working on, and the group is missing a key piece. But these guys have proven they've got the chops to keep up. There's some incredible vocal talent here, and this album succeeds on many levels. Keep it up guys, inspirits should support you for a long time to come.


The MV seems to involve a chase scene, as a girl is chased through a structure with several doors. The doors, of course, are close together, so when he emerges through one she's disappearing through another. The narrative elements are broken up and scattered between dance scenes. There are at least two places they dance, both of them fairly dynamic -- a white glowing tree and the room-festooned structure. And there are twist endings I won't reveal here.

The dance scenes are in keeping with the tune, as their hands knife through the air, forceful one moment, calm and graceful the next. Awesome choreo like that is what I enjoy. Good dance moves are high art to me.

It took awhile, just like the song, but pretty soon it hooked me. And while it's not the most original concept, I'd rather see something that halfway makes sense. I like stories, and it's nice to encounter the work of a director that does also. It's well-shot and interesting enough to keep me watching. And at the end of the day, that's what counts.


MV Relevance...........8
MV Production..........9
MV Concept..............9

Album Production.....9
Album Concept.........9


0 15,428 Share 100% Upvoted

allkpop in your Inbox