Upvote if you think more people should see this post!



Posted by jubilantj Thursday, January 14, 2016

EXO rewrites history by winning Daesang at 'Seoul Music Awards' three years in a row

EXO-L's, this is news that is sure to get you out of your seats to celebrate! Your favorite boys have rewritten K-Pop history by winning the Daesang three years running  at the 'Seoul Music Awards'! 

EXO's achievement marks the first time ever that a K-Pop group has won the Daesang for three years in a row. The group has won the award in 2014, 2015, and now they can add 2016 to their winning streak! No other artist has won the Daesang at 'Seoul Music Awards' for three consecutive years; few have won it twice in a row, including the legendary Seo Taiji and The Boys, H.O.T, Jo Sung Mo, and Girls' Generation

Daesang wasn't the only award that the boys took home this day. They were also conferred the Bonsang (Main Prize) and the Special Hallyu Award, for a total of three awards. This makes EXO triple crown winners three years running, as they also won three awards back in 2014 and 2015--the Grand Prize, Digital Album Prize, and the Main Prize in 2014 and the Grand Prize, Main Prize and the Popularity Award in 2015. 

All the EXO members were present at the ceremony--excluding Lay--to receive the honor, and Suho spoke for every one of them when he said, "Thank you for the Daesang award three years in a row. EXO-L's, thank you so much." Kai, whose birthday happened to coincide with the date of the ceremony, said, "I'm thankful that we earned such a great award on my birthday. I want to thank all our fans. Thank you to my parents who helped me earn this kind of award."

Congrats to EXO!! You guys really worked hard this year and deserve every award! We wish you another fruitful year in 2016! 

  1. EXO
0 Share 70% Upvoted

allkpop in your Inbox