Posted by hyojinee0 pt Tuesday, August 20, 2013

Yang Hyun Suk says the new group he plans on debuting will carry the responsibility of YG for the next 8 years

YG Entertainment, Yang Hyun Suk

As previously reported, on August 20, YG Entertainment CEO Yang Hyun Suk attended the showcase premiere for the new survival program, 'WHO IS NEXT: WIN' where he introduced the show, and talked about future plans regarding the debut of a new group.

Thinking back on the past while also pondering about the future, Yang Hyun Suk stated, "I remember 8 years ago when Big Bang was preparing for their debut. I met with approximately 10 media outlets. This was when the Internet wasn't fully utilized and developed the way it is now. So much has changed within the span of 8 years. YG's scale as a company has expanded and the world has changed a lot as well."

He continued, "Big Bang has carried the torch for the past 8 years. Now the new group who will debut will carry on the responsibility of YG Entertainment for the next 8 years. I'm very careful and nervous. Back then, I dreamed of Big Bang being the best in the country (Korea). However, in the current landscape, K Pop is garnering much popularity globally. The company's artists are receiving a lot of popularity in Japan and other Asian countries. Asia is watching over this program."


Yang Hyun Suk also pointed out that it took a year for Big Bang to make their way in the industry. He stated, "Big Bang made their initial debut with a song that was written by somebody else, it wasn't until G-Dragon composed "Lies" that Big Bang became what it is today."


'WIN' is a survival program about 11 YG trainees who have been trainees for several years. The trainees will be divided into two teams - Team A and Team B. The winning team who will acquire the title 'WINNER' will then debut as a group. The A team is made up of 5 people. Some of the members are 'Superstar K2' contestant Kang Seung Yoon, 'K Pop Star' contestant, Lee Seung Hoon and more. On the other hand, the B team has 6 people, including 12 year old rapper who starred in MC Mong's "Indian Boy" MV, B.I as well as another 'K Pop Star' contestant, Goo Joon Hee.

You can watch the first episode of 'WIN' on Mnet and tvN on August 23.

  1. YG Entertainment
  2. Yang Hyun Suk
0 64,341 Share 100% Upvoted
7 hours ago   20   24,721
Bang Yong Guk, G-Dragon, Zico, Ilhoon, SUGA, RM (Rap Monster), Jooheon, Song Min Ho (Mino)
5 days ago   417   213,888

allkpop in your Inbox

New Message