Posted by Susan-Han Tuesday, December 20, 2022

KBS causes confusion after a list of 'KBS Gayo Daesang' award winners from 1973-2021 goes public


A recently published list by KBS, featuring the winners of the 'KBS Gayo Daesang' for each year from 1973 through 2021, is causing confusion among industry insiders. 

Earlier this week, KBS published the above list in question as a part of its search to name the '50 Figures Who Shined on KBS'. The project will take place in order to commemorate the national broadcasting station's 50th anniversary since its founding in 1973. 

Currently, the broadcasting station is searching for candidates who will be considered for its '50 Figures' recognition. As a part of the search, a list of 'KBS Gayo Daesang' winners for each year in the broadcasting station's history has been publicly revealed. 

The problem lies in the fact that the 'KBS Gayo Daesang' system, which featured a year-end award handed out to a musician recognized for their achievements in music in the past year, was abolished after 2013. In fact, what is now known by many as the 'KBS Gayo Festival' used to be called the 'KBS Music Awards' until 2006, when issues regarding fairness forced the broadcasting station to shut down its traditional year-end music award ceremony and replace it with a year-end music festival. 

After 2006, KBS attempted various other formats including a competition between male and female musician teams in 2007, a 'Favorite Song of the Year' award given out in 2009, and more. There was also no award given out in any form in the year 2012, and in 2013, the award once again attempted its return as 'The Song of the Year', but with problematic response. 

Thus, after 2013, no awards were given out to musicians or songs of any kind by KBS. However, according to the recent list published by the broadcasting station, the following artists were listed as apparent "winners" of the 'KBS Gayo Daesang' in years when KBS did not actually give out any awards:

2006 - singer/song-writer Shin Joong Hyun

2012 - Psy

2014 - SoyuJungGiGo

2015 - EXO

2016 - TWICE

2017 - BTS

2018 - BTS

2019 - BTS

2020 - BTS

2021 - IU

So how did these artists "receive" awards in years when no actual awards were given out? What was the decision criteria, especially when no form of fan voting occurred?

In response to the confusion, a representative of KBS curtly stated, "The list currently in question is only a list for reference purposes. We will respond once we have confirmed full details." 

  1. BTS
  2. EXO
  3. IU
  4. JungGiGo
  5. Psy
  6. Soyu
  7. TWICE
14 62,912 Share 82% Upvoted
Winston8,392 pts Wednesday, December 21, 2022 4
Wednesday, December 21, 2022

In 2006, Kim Jong Kook became the LAST singer to Win the "KBS MUSIC Award" as the program CHANGED NAME to KBS SONG FESTIVAL, it turn the PROGRAM to a NON-COMPETITIVE MUSIC Festival.

The so called grand prize is called "Popular song of the year" for KBS Song Festival, there is really no big deal its just a award for a hit song of that year thats all.. when 2009 KBS Song Festival NAMED 2PM's "Again and Again" as the Popular SOng of the year 2009..

i was a bit HUH, i guess the "bad relationship" between SM and YG with KBS that year.. made JYP win a lot of awards, (and Mnet MAMA also), as Miss A took the Daesang

i guess most ppl will think songs like "SNSD - Gee or Genie" or 2NE1 - Fire, or Super Junior's Sorry Sorry, or Brown Eyed Girls - Abracadaba, or G-Dragon's 2009 hit "HeartBreaker"

i think all the above seems to be good contenders.

so when 2PM's Again and Again was announced winner, (JYP himself was present) he was very happy of cos, but i guess i was think...oh Whatever..

5 (+5 / -0)

4 more replies

tanzxrin1,494 pts Tuesday, December 20, 2022 1
Tuesday, December 20, 2022

well, i don't really see the problem especially since none of those awards are actually given out. it would be a whole different thing if there were awards given out to artists and those receiving artists don't match the names on the list.

5 (+7 / -2)

1 more reply


allkpop in your Inbox

New Message