[ Quick Review ] : Zimzalabim by Red Velvet

Discussion in 'K-POP' started by Ash_and_Thorns, Jul 4, 2019.

1. Ash_and_Thorns

Ash_and_Thorns Trendsetter

Currency:
    A Lazy Manager of Something
    Disclaimer : I am not a professional nor a music critic . All of these are just my personal opinions an an ordinary listener .

Disclaimer 2 : The review is not a flattering nor a postive one . If you know yourself to be easily irritable or if this will ruin your experience as a fan then please don't proceed .

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

After their three comebacks and title tracks in 2018 ; one if which was deemed the best song of that year by billboard and a fan favourite and two that caused much strife between fans and non-fans alike to its 'experiementation' , Red Velvet have finally made their 2019 comeback with Zimzalabim and it's ....not good .

The name of the track itself is an immediate attention grabber . Zimzalabim being ' A magical word that one would say to complete a trick like abracadabra or alakazam, the word is comprised of 3 names Zim, Zala and Bim the trickster demons ' according to Urban Dictionary promises a magical adventure and it fits well with the concept photos .

We are initially greeted by heavy percussions and Wendy's overly-cheery and borderline cringy 'welcome' - which fans have compared to a Sim but it goes well with the concept - , almost immediately a buzzing sound ( I'm assuming it's the base line ) starts and it effectively declares what the song is supposed to be :
    Zimzalabim is designed to imitate the trajectory of a roller coaster as it switches between different verses , hooks and chorus while changing genres at the same time to give the listener an incredibly fun and magical experience . The song fails miserably at that though .