Best & Worst K-Actors/Actresses

Discussion in 'K-Movies & TV' started by perfectsmilebias, Sep 21, 2016.

1. perfectsmilebias

Currency:
    In your opinion... who are the best Korean actors and actresses and who are the worst?

Preferably, talk about actors who are known mainly for acting, not just idol-actors or model-actors. You can list more than one in each category.

Please note, I am not an expert critic. These are my opinions.

BEST

Male
    [​IMG]
    Lee Byung Hun

I'm only talking about his performances in Korean works. Watching him in Memories of the Sword was a revelation! His control over subtle emotion and expressions was really something to watch. What really struck me was, his character is an often-seen character in K-movies and K-dramas, but I have never seen it as expertly performed as when Lee Byun Hun did it! I also enjoyed his performance in Masquerade. I should watch more of his work...

Female
    Sadly, I don't have one.

[​IMG] [​IMG]

I haven't watched enough K-movies or K-dramas, and an actress has not made a great enough impact on me. Im Soo Jung caught my eye in Perfect Proposal, but her character was quite simple in that movie. Ha Ji Won is another actress that impresses me, she knows how to emote very well. However, sometimes I am not a fan of her unnatural delivery, plus I notice her emotions look very similar regardless of the character she is playing. Consequently, her performances are sometimes not unique, despite how unique her character might be.

WORST

Male
    [​IMG]
    Lee Moon Shik

I have only watched him in Empress Ki and Healer, but this actor exemplifies over acting. His emotions, whether happy or sad, are so over-exaggerated they are gag-like. Perhaps, there is a cultural thing that I am not recognizing, perhaps his over-acting is intentional. But, for me, his performances always come off as comedic (but not funny) even if they aren't suppose to be.

Female
    [​IMG]
    Hwang Jung Eum